///New Industry Minister in Cabinet shake-up

New Industry Minister in Cabinet shake-up

The Prime Minister, the Hon Malcolm Turnbull, yesterday announced changes to his Ministry including the appointment of former Cabinet Secretary, Senator Arthur Sinodinos, to the role of Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science.

AAMC Chair, Mr John Pollaers, welcomed Senator Sinodinos to the industry portfolio.

“A clear and steady whole-of-government focus on innovation, advanced manufacturing and diversifying Australia’s economy, is the answer in tough times, and the Senator is very well placed to meet the myriad challenges,” Mr Pollaers said.Story2-Img-01-Lge

“There is much more to be done to design and implement a policy framework that will enable Australia to transition to a competitive and dynamic, knowledge-based economy,” he said.

Ai Group CEO, Innes Willox, said yesterday Senator Sinodinos “understands that success will require industry policies complemented by reforms and improvements to policies around taxation, workplace relations, skills and energy.”

“On innovation, the new Minister has also worked closely with successive governments on the development of R&D policies and he would appreciate the value of research to industry success and the disruption that can be caused by too much change in this area.”

Former Industry Minister, The Hon Greg Hunt MP, has been appointed Minister for Health and Minister for Sport, following the resignation of the Hon Sussan Ley MP on 13 January.

Mr Pollaers commended outgoing Industry Minister Hunt on his significant contribution and consultative approach during his period in the role, and congratulated him on the new position.

In other changes:

  • The Hon Ken Wyatt MP has been promoted to Minister for Aged Care and Minister for Indigenous Health
  • Michael Sukkar MP has been promoted to Assistant Minister to the Treasurer
  • Special Minister of State, Senator Scott Ryan, has been appointed Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Cabinet
  • Assistant Minister for Rural Health, Dr. David Gillespie MP, has been appointed Assistant Minister for Health.

The role of Cabinet Secretary will return to the Prime Minister’s Office, reducing the size of Cabinet by one. The new Ministers will be sworn in by the Governor General in Canberra on Tuesday 24 January.

2018-01-09T11:59:05+11:00 January 19th, 2017|